Board Appointments at the Compound Semiconductor Applications Catapult

Date: 10.01.2023

The Compound Semiconductor Applications (CSA) Catapult has expanded its Board of Directors with the appointment of four new non-executive directors: Debbie Wilkinson; Lorraine Rienecker; Layla Moran MP; and Tammy Lillie.  

CSA Catapult welcomes back Becky Jacobs, Finance Director, following her maternity leave, who was first appointed to the Board in May 2021. These Directors will work with other members of the Board to support the corporate governance of the Catapult, applying their skills, judgement, and expertise to make informed decisions about the future strategy of the Catapult. 

Becky Jacobs  

As Finance Director and an executive member of the Board of Directors, Becky is the strategic lead for Finance, Legal Services, Procurement, and the Catapult’s Business Systems. As a member of the leadership team, Becky has built a professional and proactive team that provides oversight to investments, project finance, corporate governance and compliance that is essential to the Catapult. Becky joined the Catapult in 2018 from Spire Healthcare PLC where she led the strategic and operational finance across 14 private hospitals in the UK. Becky was promoted to the Board of the Catapult in the summer of 2021.  

Tammy Lillie 

Tammy Lillie is an experienced executive leader with a background in engineering design, working as an engineer on the design and build of ships, submarines, and luxury yachts, working for organisations such as BAE Systems. Tammy sits on the Executive Board as Chief People Officer and the main Board Member of the Met Office. She is a Chartered Fellow of the Institute of Mechanical Engineering and a Chartered Fellow of the Institute of Personal Development.  

Layla Moran MP  

Layla Moran is the Liberal Democrat MP for Oxford West and Abingdon and has been an MP since 8 June 2017. She is currently the Liberal Democrat Spokesperson for Foreign and Commonwealth Affairs, and International Development. A qualified teacher, she is committed to helping support the Catapult in its development of a Skills Academy, Layla was previously Education Spokesperson. Layla is an Imperial College Physics graduate.  

Lorraine Rienecker  

Lorraine Rienecker is an experienced executive leader and board member with a proven track record in delivering business transformation and growth in aerospace, industrial and service businesses, most recently in private equity. Lorraine is a Fellow of the Royal Aeronautical Society and has a degree in Mechanical Engineering, and an MBA from INSEAD Business School.  

Debbie Wilkinson  

Debbie Wilkinson is a Chartered Accountant and brings over 15 years’ experience operating as a director in an innovative engineering and manufacturing business. Debbie brings her finance, operations and marketing expertise to the Board’s audit and risk committee and her commercial SME knowledge will support CSA Catapult during the next phase of its strategy.  

Interim Chair of the CSA Catapult Board, Rob Bryan, commented on the appointments: “I am delighted to welcome Debbie, Lorraine, Layla, and Tammy to the Board of CSA Catapult as we move into our next five-year period. Debbie brings immense experience of industry, in particular with SMEs and, as a Chartered Accountant, will chair our Audit and Risk Committee. Lorraine has worked extensively in the aerospace, defence and electronics sectors and private equity. Her enterprise leadership skills will bring a global perspective to our Board. Layla’s expertise in education and equalities issues combined with her knowledge of government and other public sector stakeholders will be of great value supporting our skills, communications, and engagement with public sector stakeholders. Tammy’s executive leadership experience and background in engineering design, HR leadership, and passion for ED&I will all help considerably as we support skills development across our industry. 

“I am also pleased to welcome back Becky Jacobs, who joined the Board in 2021. Becky will continue to make a considerable contribution both to the Board and to our executive leadership team.”