Kevin Crofton

The Catapult is chaired by Kevin T Crofton who is the President of  SPTS Technologies Limited. He is also Corporate Executive Vice President of Orbotech Ltd. Previous to his positions at Orbotech (and SPTS), Mr Crofton held executive positions at Aviza Technologies, NEXX Systems, and Lam Research Corporation. Mr Crofton is on the Executive Board of SEMI, the industry association of the semiconductor equipment and materials industry.

Further, Kevin is the former Chair and now member of the Governing Council of the MEMS and Sensors Industry Group.

Stephen Doran

Stephen Doran is Chief Executive Officer for the Compound Semiconductor Applications Catapult, leading the strategic direction of the Catapult and driving our approach to accelerate UK industry’s ability to exploit advancements in compound semiconductor technologies.

Stephen has over 25 years of experience in the global electronics markets, introducing many successful new products ranging from mixed signal audio processors to complex multimedia smart phones.

Before joining the CSA Catapult, Stephen was Director of Operations and Transformation for Raytheon Systems Ltd in the UK. Prior to that he was Managing Director of the Raytheon’s Glenrothes facility in Fife where he led the transformational growth of the Power & Control Business and Manufacturing Function. Stephen has also served as Chief Operating Officer at Wolfson Microelectronics and worked for consumer electronics giant Motorola, where he led on new product development and commercial strategies for the US, European and Asian markets.

Stephen’s experience has given him a solid background in global management and cultural diversity, as well as a strong pedigree in operations, strategy, program management and product & portfolio management.

Stephen was educated at Paisley University, graduating with a BEng in Electrical and Electronic Engineering.

Angela Noon

Angela Noon is CFO of Siemens UK and Ireland and joined the Catapult board in January 2019 to lend her expertise to the audit and risk committee. Her experience is invaluable in ensuring that all appropriate governance and compliance is followed within the Catapult. Her support is pivotal to the next stage of the implementation of our strategy, the growth of the Catapult and driving innovation in the compound semiconductor sector.


Jonathan Lyle

Jonathan Lyle is a Fellow of the Royal Academy of Engineering and the Institution of Engineering and Technology. He held a number of senior roles in the Ministry of Defence, including as Chief Executive of the Defence Science and Technology Laboratory (Dstl) – a government Agency which works closely with companies and universities to harness innovative science and technology for the defence and security of the UK.

Stephen Duffy

Stephen has around twenty years experience in technical, operations and business development roles within the Semiconductor and Photonics industry. Stephen currently serves as Chief Executive Officer at Optocap Ltd, a technology company offering package design and assembly services for a wide range of optoelectronic and microelectronic devices.

Stephen was co-owner of Optocap Ltd for several years following a successful Management Buy-Out (MBO) from previous owners, Scottish Enterprise and was co-owner and executive director at the time of the multi-million pound trade sale of Optocap Ltd to the German multi-national TUV NORD. He now sits on the Executive Management Committee of TUV NORD Aerospace Business Unit.

He has been an expert evaluator the European Commission for a number of Horizon 2020 R&D projects for semiconductors and photonics and was a previous member of the European Space Agency working group for Hybrid and Packaging of semiconductor devices. Stephen has co-authored a number of technical papers on compound semiconductors and photonics and is the author of several trade-articles on semiconductor packaging.

Stephen holds  BSc Hons in Laser Physics and Optoelectronics from University of Strathclyde.

Trevor Cross

As the Chief Technology officer of Teledyne e2v, Prof.Trevor Cross brings over 30 years of technology, product innovation and commercial experience to the Catapult, which includes over ten years spent at plc board level as Technical Director. Dr Cross played a pivotal role in e2v’s university engagement programs and today leads the company’s growing Quantum Technologies activity. His experience in committee roles include council membership of the former Particle Physics and Astronomy Research Council, Chair of the Electronics, Sensors and Photonics KTN, and he currently chairs Innovate UK’s Special Interest Group in Quantum Technologies.

Dr Wyn Meredith

Dr Wyn Meredith is director of the Compound Semiconductor Centre, a new Joint Venture between IQE Plc and Cardiff University, focussed on technology translation of research and design in compound semiconductor materials and devices. Dr Meredith is also an expert advisor to the UKs Engineering and Physical Sciences Research Council, Cardiff University Department of Physics, The UK National III-V Centre, and provides executive level advisory services to numerous SMEs in the field of semiconductor technology.

Rob Bryan

Rob is a solicitor with vast experience in the publicly funded STEM space and leads the only legal practice dedicated to STEM. He has held senior in-house roles with major PLCs, GEC and Courtaulds Textiles. His work on behalf of learned societies, including the Royal Society, Royal Academy of Engineering and the Physiological Society has caused him to advise on some of the more high profile issues that challenge STEM organisations.

He is a qualified Chartered Company Secretary as well as Solicitor and is also a Non-Executive Director of the Open Data Institute. Rob is a visiting lecturer in Technology Protection & Management at Warwick University and has worked on two intellectual property cases that were successful in the House of Lords.